In many countries, children are engaged in some kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experiences, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

Child labour is a controversial topic arousing heated debates from different parties involved such as factory owners, teachers, parents etc from around the world. It is challenging to decide which side is right without taking an insight look into different aspects revolving around both the child and the job.

On the one hand, working brings valuable experiences disregarding age. First of all, comparing to non-working children, employed child gains more in-depth perspective on how precious money can be. If a child has to work to earn pocket money, he will be less inclined to spend wastefully. This habit will follow the child into adulthood forming a saving characteristic which will be crucial if financial crisis ever happens. Second of all, in developing and underdeveloped countries, a child is forced to work at tender age to earn extra income no matter how small the amount is so that he can help out his family in his own way. In this case, it is difficult to judge whether it is right or wrong for the child to contribute to the family.

On the other hand, underage working may bring more harm than good especially in unfavourable working conditions. The prime example of this is China where children working in factories is a highly common occurrence because not only does it cuts down labour cost in term of salary, it is also cheaper to feed children compared to adult. Additionally, children do not have enough knowledge to demand as many rights and work safety conditions as adult. This is undoubtedly wrong as it violates human rights and abusing child labour.

In conclusion, in order to judge if it is right or wrong to let children work, we have to take a deep look at the purpose of working as well as working conditions and rights that children can have in this job.