In many countries, good schools and medical facilities are available only in cities. SOme people think new teachers and doctors should work in rural areas for a few years. But other people think everyone should have the freedom to choose where they work.

The well-etablished academic and health care system are one of the key contributing factors to the rural-urban shift. Many people argue for legislation compelling teachers and doctors to spend several years to serve in rural areas. While others argue that it is an individual right in the choice of occupation and place of work. This essay discusses various aspects related to these two issues and arrived at it own conclusion.

To begin with, as citizens, villagers have their own rights as much as suburbanites have, and this deserve consideration.Giving them proper education and health care is the responsibility of governments. Only if they get good education ano health care, can a country achieve real progress. Development of rural areas is necessary for the overall progress of a country.

However, those teachers and doctors prefer to work in cities because they get better wages and other facilities is a well-known fact. Choosing an occupation is an individual right. He or she has the right to choose the place of work. This means that governments cannot compel people to work at places where they do not want to work.

Notwithstanding the above, governments can address the shortage of teachers and doctors in the villages in many ways. A useful example is offering scholarships to students on condition that as qualified teachers and doctors, they will spend a specific number of years for the service of rural communities.

To conclude, I believe that young teachers and doctors should be sent to rural places for the sake of the personal prospects. However, we shall not forget that the final choice is given to them.