In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

A huge proportion of national budget is allocated to providing people with easier access to the Internet. There are several reasons for such spending and, in my view, this is not the most suitable way to use state money.

The government understand how the Internet benefits the lives of their citizens and also the limitation of access to the network in a number of places across their countries. The Internet has proven powerful in dispensing educational services and general knowledge about all aspects of life, not to mention the fact that it could facilitate communication between even continents. There is no arguing why governments pay much heed to the development of the network, just as to boost the overall quality of life for their people. Additionally, perhaps the inaccessibility of the Internet in many areas, especially disadvantaged ones for which mountainous villages in Vietnam could be brought up as a prime example, has the government draw a conclusion to pour their money into improving the Internet.

Much as those analyzed points above, I still believe large financial spending on such a field could, sometimes, be seen as unproductive or even counter-productive. In fact, only half of the world population has Internet connection; and even if the government were able to expand the network, it would be, I believe, hardly reachable for the rest of the world for the time being. The result would not be equivalent to the enormous amount of governmental funding. Instead, there are some other areas that authorities could invest in as a pre-requisite complement before supplying a widespread network. Constructing schools and deploying qualified teachers to areas that are used to the absence of the Internet and are unaware of the benefits it might offer could be more promising.

In conclusion, there are two main explanations for governments’ special attention to improving the Internet access; and I think this is not the most optimal way to spend money.