In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It is believed that public spending is currently spent much on enhancing the quality of Internet access in many parts of the world. This happens for some reasons, and I do not think it is the best use of government budget.

To begin with, there are several reasons why the authorities invest a great amount of money in accessing the Internet. The first one is that improving provides better education for students. Since in this modern world, most university students tend to look up information and collect materials online on a regular basis, having the stable and fast internet allows both students and teachers to learn and teach in more effectively ways. The quality of the future workforce therefore can be improved with well-educated citizens later on. Additionally, the Internet today also involves greatly in international business such as online meetings and contracts signed indirectly between different countries, making it very necessary for companies to have access to the Internet. As companies could earn higher profit, they would pay greater taxes to the government. This may lead to a contribution to the economy as a whole.

However, I believe that public expenditure should be spent on other key fields like health care and environment rather than the Internet accessing. Firstly, there is an increasing level of noise and exhausted fumes caused by private vehicles, more money needs to be used to encourage people to use public transport in order to prevent seriously environmental pollution happening around the world. This could be done by running individuals’ awareness of problems related to the environment. Secondly, it is advisable for the authorities to pay much attention to health care improvements by investing government expenditure for scientists, because carrying out better research enables them to come up with better ways to deal with dangerous diseases, including cancer and heart attack.

In conclusion, there are reasonable reasons behind spending a large amount money on the Internet accessing of the government, I suppose that it is certainly not the most effective way of using money.