In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why it is happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

Government investment in Internet improvement constitutes a large chunk of national budget, sparking public controversy in recent years. Despite the benefits bestowed, this is not the most beneficial ways to spend government money

There are many reasons why official authorities spend money on internet accessability. From economical perspective, Higher degree of internet access could be conducive to online trade and online economic co-operations among local companies and foreign ones. This would feed into the increase in oursourcing investment activities in the country, boosting economic development. From the educational perspective, due to better internet accessibility, young individuals, especially those residing in mountainmous or poverty-stricken regions could get easier access to learning materials from online courses without any physical travels to educational institutions. For example, many Internet service providers in Vietnam have installed Internet broadband transmitters in many mountainous provinces, uplifting the literacy rate in these areas to near 98%.

Nonetheless, governments are recommended to spend budget on other public sectors other than Internet access improvement. First, Higher disbursements should be poured on updating public infrastructure. For example, if many transportation facilities such as highway roads or bridges are reinforced and installed, not only car accident rate will diminish but also economy will develop thanks to the ease of goods delivery. Second, governments can raise capital injections into research on technological advancements. For instance, budget spending on automation in manufacture factories lead to the causal relationship with the betterment in products’ quality and quantity, saving a great amount of money in comparison with human laborers.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should not spend much national budget on improving Internet access. Additionally, official authorities can invest in public infrastructure and technological research for better social development.