In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society

No one can deny that we are heading towards a graying society, which means that there will be high proposition of elderly as compare to youngsters. Although, it should be not seen as a success story as, it brings more social and economic challenges for a nation. So, I can be said it a negative development with positive benefits.

To begin with, having a low proportion of youngsters means there will be dearth of workforce to keep the economy running and will decrease the tax revenue generated by the government. To meet the labor demand, the government will have to spend a lot to summons workers from other nations. This is exactly what is happening in developed countries like Canada and America. Secondly, the elderly basically suffers from health issues and well-being of them is always the government’s responsibility. Thus, with low income tax generation and cost of health insurance will be an albatross around government’s neck.

On the other hand, we can’t portray elders as evil, owing to one day we too, will have to pass through this process. We cannot bend the truth that we’ve made progress. We have gotten a gift of longer life and better health. So, the challenges we face does not outweigh benefits. The can take on to participate in social activities. Also, the have experience of life which would be very helpful for us. For example they, could help bringing up children and look upon them whole time or they can be useful in saving our third generation from going on fiddle. Secondly, willing elders would rejoin the job and support him/her financially. Working alongside with youth retirees would to stay active and feel productive while maintaining health.

In conclusion, retiring is inescapable truth. The Old-aged society will certainly have a negative effect over country’s development, but it would be lessen if we planned it well.