In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven, and rice cookers) Is it a positive or negative development?

Electronic device has brought significant benefits to our lives in the past fifty years. Yet there remain some disagreements as to whether the increasingly growing use of household goods is a positive or negative trend. While there are valid arguments to the contrary arguing that purchase and use of household goods can lead to sedentary lifestyle, it is my personal view that the benefits of them far outweigh their drawbacks.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that household goods facilitate the way we do household chores. In this hustle life like today, thanks to electronic device house stuffs is no more a burden on people who are bread-winners in family. Not only does the use house goods reduce time needed to complete the tasks, but it is also economical in terms of finance. Take the case of rice cook as a salient example. We used to have to buy coal and then make it burn to cook the rice, which took hours and lots of money. With the use of rice cookers, however, cooking the rice can be done just by a push of a button.

Equally important, the growing use of house goods causes the users to be more intelligent. Were it not for television, it would be difficult for us to catch the news as well as watch live game show. Controlling these electronic devices, furthermore, force users to read the manual instructions and apply into practical cases, which in consequence make users wiser. Even though the risk of obesity resulted from the very comfortable life is real, it can be eliminated easily by not abusing them to an extent.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that purchasing and using household goods exerts positive impact on our lives rather than detrimental effects. In year to come, I do believe that education programs showing how to use electronic device smartly and properly should be provided widely to reduce the risk of sedentary lifestyle.