In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven and rice cookers). Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, thanks to the outburst of technology, a huge number of household equipment , such as rice cookers, ovens, televisions or microwaves, have been invented which have become an indispensable part of our daily life. From my perspective, although this development may bring about certains both pros to individuals, negative effects could be witnessed for their surrounding environment as well.

Initially, the increasing number of state-of-the-art inventions makes our life more convenient and heightensheighten the living standards. Instead of consuming a huge amount of time for household chores, inhabitants can put more concentration on work and study, or pursue their own passions; therefore, more chances for promotion at work or personal satisfaction could be gained. For example, dishwashers support humans in doing the dishes after meals, or washing machines help users in reducing efforts on clean clothes. As a result, the more time they can save from doing housework, the more money and achievements they can obtain.

On the other hand, producing technological productions are likely to cause adverse impacts on the environment. It is proven that the process of the emerging new devices discharges a significant number of pollutants to the surroundings, not only affecting human health but also gradually leading to serious long-term environmental issues; for instance, the most noticeable problem in recent years is global warming. Besides, technological breakthroughs also result in some people's overdependence on these supplies . In fact, a number of households cannot live independently from automatic gadgets due to the fact that they possess no basic housework skills. Therefore, if these people are put into a situation that is a technology-free situation, they will encounter numerous challenges to adapt to the new changes.

In conclusion, the growth in household equipment consumption has apparently benefited our life apparently; however, its downsides should have to be considered deliberately for the optimal utilization.