In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone.

To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 year-old children?

It is widely known that teenagers take responsibility for their own decisions at the age of sixteen. From my point of view, it goes without saying that parents should look after their children when they are at that time, and I will outline two main areas that can be done by parents for guiding their adolescent children.

The most important area is safety. It is essential to manage risk as teenagers have tendency to do something based on their feelings regardless of its danger. For instance, in some countries such as Vietnam or Indonesia, it is not strange to see juveniles riding a motorcycle without driving license, eventually, they drive at high speed and do not wear helmet. As a result, they can cause accidents, however, they undoubtedly cannot take responsibilities if accidents happen. Parents should, therefore, intervene to give advice and help their children understand when they are allowed to drive.

Another area is financial management. It is obvious that most teenagers’ spending counts on their parents. I firmly believe that parents should guide them how to make financial decisions at the young age since it is valuable for their future. In addition, kinds of criteria to purchase items like: quality, price, and formality should be explained to adolescents. Also, parents should just give their children a particular amount of money regularly, especially, there will be no extra fund in spite of their arduousness. By doing this, they will be aware of the value of money, and the probability of getting a part-time job is likely to happen.

In conclusion, even though young people are granted a number of specific privileges at the young age, parents still have authorities for interceding their teenagers’ lives. Even so, the intervention should not be too stern as grown-up people need particular freedom.