Many criminals commit crimes after they were set free. Research indicates that the people who were convicted criminals would often commit crimes when they are set free. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this issue?

It is true that the rate of recidivism among the ex-prisoners after being release is considerably high. This can be attributed to a number of reasons, but certain approaches could be taken to tackle the problem.

There are different reasons for which the convicted perpetrators often break the law when they leave penal institution, one of which is unemployment. In fact, being unable to find a job, some people decide to get involved in unlawful acts to make a living. However, with a criminal record, these violators may find it much harder to apply for a vacancy whether they are well reformed or not. Without a stable job and regular income, the former convicted delinquents would participate in the crime cycle again. Another justification is the lack of proper education before people engage in criminal activities or during the time they are incarcerated. There is no denying that those who commit crimes often have mental problems, and hardly could they realize the repercussions of their actions to the communities.

Nonetheless, authorities could adopt several actions in order to deal with the above-mentioned issue. One possible step might involve providing the culprits with proper vocation training so that they will acquire necessary skills to apply themselves in the labor force. This would in turn increase their employability after they leave the penitentiary, thus mitigating the possibility of reoffending. Education would also be a viable solution to rehabilitate the inmates. For the would-be offenders, it is essential to incorporate moral lessons into school curriculum or educational television programs to raise their awareness of potential fallouts of deliberate infraction. An alternative would be the practical campaign such as community service for criminals to partake in, which would subsequently make them become productive members of the society.

In sum, there can be no doubt that people commit and re-commit offences for different contributing factors. Still, governments could take various measures to grapple with this situation.