Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, accommodation shortage is an urgent issue in plenty of major cities. In order to deal with that, numerous authorities assume that parkland would be better transferred to serve residential purposes. From my perspective, I do not encourage it as an effective and thorough solution to the housing issue.

First of all, city parks are significant open spaces that play a vital role in social and well-being, removing them may arise plenty of adverse impacts on the life quality of city-dwellers. As a matter of fact, green spaces serve as a lung of the cities to clean the air, attenuate noise and cool down the atmosphere. Harming floral habitats will associate with multiple types of pollution and affect negatively public health. Moreover, the availability of parks encourages active lifestyles where residents can come and perform physical exercises, meet each other, and foster a sense of community. Therefore, cities with integrated extensive park areas are usually more attractive places to live and work than the ones with only non-emotional artificial constructions.

Second, creating more settlements for citizens can not serve the problems of urbanization from its root. The main reason accredits to the housing crisis is the disparity between metropolitan cities and their neighboring rural areas. The advantages of more opportunities for higher-value occupations, better social facilities, and higher living standards in the major cities lead to the tendency to migrate and be centralized in one area. Thereby, establishing more buildings even worsens the issues, attracting more people to shift towards the cities, and creating a burden on the economy and living environment of the locals.

In conclusion, I believe parkland is never a suitable alternative for novel residential buildings. Instead, actions regarding developing the infrastructure of surrounding outskirts of the cities with well-connected transport facilities are possibly more practical and accurate.