Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning parkland for residential development because this land would be better used for housing.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to deal with the increasing accommodation shortage, numerous authorities of big cities assume that parkland would be better transferred to serve residential purposes. From my perspective, I don't encourage it as an effective and thorough solution to the housing issue.

First of all, city parks are significant open spaces that play a vital role in social and well-being, removing them may arise plenty of adverse impacts on the life quality of city-dwellers. As a matter of fact, green spaces serve as a lung of the cities to clean the air, attenuate noise and cool down the atmosphere. Moreover, the availability of parks encourages active lifestyles and reduces health costs among residents. Therefore, cities with integrated large parks area are usually more attractive than the ones with only artificial constructions.

Second, creating more settlements for citizens can not serve the problems of urbanization from its root. The main reason accredited to the housing crisis is the disparity between metropolitan cities and their neighboring rural areas. The advantages of more opportunities for higher-value occupations, better social facilities, and higher living standards in the major cities lead to the tendency of migrating and centralized in one area. Thereby, establishing more buildings can even worse the issues, attract more people to shift towards the cities, and create a burden on the economy and living environment of the locals.

In conclusion, I believed that parkland is never a suitable alternative for novel residential buildings. Instead, actions regarding developing the infrastructure of surrounding outskirts of the cities with well-connected transport facilities are possibly more practical and accurate.