Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a prominent amount of sugar is detected in the majority of food and drink products which results in the deterioration of public health. Therefore, there are people suggesting that sugary commodities should have produced with higher costs in order to prevent people from consuming sugar. I partially agree with the statement based on the following arguments.

Firstly, it is undeniable that consuming many sugary products will bring negative impacts to our health. However, there are also other major products that contribute to health problems such as oily food, food with too much carbohydrate, or caffeine. Thus, getting rid of sugar by making the products expensive is not a wise approach to tackle the health issues whilst there are many other sources of causing health problems. Moreover, expensive sugary products will probably encourage people to buy less sugar but not directly contribute to lessening health struggles.

In addition, this choice can be counterproductive, in which people will possibly consume less sugar but depend more on other sugar-substituted products that can bring danger to their basic health. Some people are truly addicted to sugar so that they can prohibit consuming them for a few days but do binge-eating the sugary food later on which is much more threatening to their health. In some cases, those who eat sugar regularly might probably change their preference for caffeine. So obviously, if we were to raise the price of every product that people are addicted to, food prices will be sky-rocketing compared to the wages at the end of the day that will cause social issues.

Rather than increasing the price of sugary products, the stakeholders should consider putting limitations on the amount of sugar added, lowering the price of organic food, i.e., creating rooms for alternative choices, and should put equal restrictions on sugar-like products, for instance, oily food.

To conclude, expensive sugary commodities will surely make the customers consume less sugar. Nonetheless, it would not guarantee the downward trend of health problems facing these days so it would be better for government to consider more inclusive approaches to all the food products.