Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

A number of beverage and food products nowadays consists of a considerable high level of sugar, which is believed to be the cause of many diseases. This fact leads to an argument that people should pay more for sugary items, in order to decrease sugar consumption. From my perspective, I completely agree with this idea.

Initially, it is apparent that consuming too much sugar leads to numerous health problems. For example, some diseases that could be mentioned are obesity or diabetes type 2, which are can be prevented by using a suitable amount of sugar. Numerous researches have proven that the number of patients who have to deal with obesity and diabetes has grown significantly in recent years, as the outburst of cheap and easy-to-approach sugary items in the market. Besides, these experiences indicate that developed countries have suffered from these kinds of problems more than any other nation. Not only prevent people from having a healthy body, but issues coming from consuming too much sugar also lead to early death or some other social problems, which put heavy pressure on the medical system.

To solve this problem, many governments have decided to apply taxes to this kind of product, from 5 to 10 percentages per item, in order to avoid the increase in the number of consumed sugary items. When the price of manufactured food and beverage rises over the affordable level, buyers would pay more attention to other products, which might be more economical and healthier. In recent years, the number of healthy food choices has considerably grown, therefore it could meet the requirements of consumers. This solution is believed to help some countries to solve the problem caused by sugary items.

To summarize, it is undoubtedly considered that manufactured products that include a huge amount of sugar are noticeable threats to human health and increasing the price of these items is an effective way to solve these problems.