Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

Science study shows that manufactured food and drink contain a large quantity of sugar, which can possibly jeopardize human beings’ health. Some people consider increasing the price of sugary products as a way to lessen people’s consumption of sugar. However, I don’t think this will work out.

It is no doubt that eating too much sugar that is in highly processed food rather than in natural food is unhealthy. Taking too much sugar will accelerate human beings’ ageing. Also, according to medical handbooks that I read, it can lead to obesity and heart attack, which is harmful to individuals’ life quality. The large consumption of manufactured food of citizens would finally result in an extremely high medical payout of governments.

Nevertheless, using the strategy of higher prices may not help to achieve the goal of less consumption of sugar. Most people hate to be forced to do something, especially in a way that will add their life burden. And it can not be guaranteed that people will buy less manufactured food rather than quit the gym to save money for the food they want.

In addition, I think it is unfair for the poor to add the price of high-sugar food. In my opinion, only after meeting their basic needs can people then pursue something higher. For the poor, the most vital thing is not to starve. And the increasing price of certain prices would not lead them to healthier and more expensive food but make them feel that life gets harder. It only benefits the food sellers.

To sum up, the idea of cutting the consumption of sugar by increasing the food price is not realistic. It would not only be not inefficient but also enhance the inequality between the rich and the poor. It would be better to encourage people to eat healthier food by propaganda or giving them some free meal tickets of food with less sugar.