Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

Many people hold the opinion that the reason for many health issues is that many processed food and beverage products contain high levels of sugar, and the government wants to substantially increase the price of sugary products to discourage people from buying these types of products. I completely disagree with this viewpoint, and in this essay, I will present the reasons for my view that there are two main reasons which explain why people consume so many processed foods and beverages.

To begin with, one of the most compelling reasons for holding my view is that people should have the right to choose whether they want to buy sugary products. This is due to the fact that the taste and preference of each person differs, and it would be more likely impossible for the government to continuously control the price of this type of food on the market. For example, since I love to eat sweet cakes, if the price of this kind of food is increased, I cannot afford the same amount as before, but I still buy and consume them. That is why after many countries implemented this solution, the rate of people eating sweet products decreased insignificantly. In short, it helps to demonstrate that making sugary foods and beverages more expensive does not discourage people from consuming those products.

Another convincing reason for my position is that education must take a significant responsibility in encouraging individuals to consume less sugar. This is because schools currently tend to focus too much on academic training and thus do not provide sufficient teaching on courses related to health and fitness. As a result, their students would not learn the value of a healthy lifestyle and consume sugar products without limitation. This explains why the number of people with health problems such as diabetes or obesity is increasing. In short, if schools incorporate sports courses into the curriculum so that students will become well-rounded in both physical and mental health.

By way of conclusion, I believe that people have their own personal choices of buying sugary foods and beverages, and schools have to teach students about health and fitness. Therefore, it is recommended that the government should not make sugary products more expensive.