Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life.

Why is this trend occurring?

What are the impacts of this development?

In recent years, the issue that a growing number of young parents procrastinate parenthood. This is attributed to a whole host of reasons, and some effects, either in positive or negative ways, should be considered.

There are several reasons why couples delay giving birth late. First, since the labor market is getting competitive, young adults tend to devote their time, energy, and money to their careers. In fact, young parents would opt to work more hours with higher commitments in lieu of spending time taking care of their children, which brings greater success or more handsome salaries. Second, by understanding the magnitude of the child-rearing responsibility, they, in turn, are scared of giving birth. For example, taking care of children, either feeding in or soothing babies, is considered as a full-time job, which discourages many would-be parents as they may not have time for taking care of themselves.

There are 2 mains impacts, positive and negative ones, of procrastinating giving birth late on young parents. First, in order to save an adequate amount of money for children raising, parents determine to delay parental hood. In fact, necessities for child-rearing such as milk products, babies’ clothes, or diapers will cost parents a significant amount of money, which implies that parents need more time to prepare. Second, having children late in life could be detrimental to the health of mothers and babies. Plenty of evidence suggests that newborns could be at high risk of severe illnesses such as Down syndrome if mothers decided to give birth in their middle age, which indicates that parents should give careful consideration to this decision.

In conclusion, there are several reasons and effects of delaying parenthood in young generations. By considering all the pros and cons of this issue, would-be parents will make the best decisions not only for themselves but also for their babies.