Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why it is the case?. What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places.

Higher foreign attendances over local ones in museums and historical destinations have been capturing public attention in many nations, especially in those with developed tourism industry. Given that local attendances appear to be record low, identifying the reasons behind this trend could be the key to addressing the issue.

There are many reasons behind this pattern. First, since local individuals are already well-acquainted with the historical destinations and the story lines behind, those tourism spots could only be purposed for curious foreign visitors. If local people visit these historical sites, it could be deemed unnecessary physical efforts and a waste of money. Second, the access fees are sometimes proved prohibitively expensive, which are beyond the affordability of local people and exclusively for foreign ones with higher purchasing power. For example, sought-after sites with historically wartime-related significance in the mountainous regions in Vietnam offer tickets exorbitant prices, which could never be brought by local citizens, who are living on subsistence agriculture for survival.

However, official authorities could undertake some initiatives to combat this issue. First, because historical sites and museums’ main objective is high visitor attraction, but they only provide sightseeing option instead of practical interaction, which are the deterrent for local attendences. In fact, many museums and other historical spots now are equipped with augmented reality and virtual reality teachnologies, enabling visitors to do interactive actions with historical events, which fascinates a hugh number of both foreign and local visitors. In addition, the managers of the sites could lower the prices of access or offer free entrance in some events, thereby incentivising local citizens to visit more frequently.

In conclusion, high attendance fees and destination familarity are the two main factors behind this pattern. By reducing prices and increasing practical interactive services in historical sites, the number of local visitors would certainly be on the rise.