Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, tourism has become a more debatable topic among people. Many local museums and historical sites are visited by mostly foreigns than local ones. In this essay, I will argue why this happens and gives possible solutions for attracting more local residents to these sites.

To embarks with, the biggest reason for having fewer native citizens in historical places and museums is the fee. In fact, when the ticket price of these sites is higher, many middle-class people cannot afford it. It will lead them to avoid visiting this museum or a site. In addition, local people have clearly ideas about all events, which took place in sites, so they are less likely to spend their money to watch the same things. This has resulted in a decrement in their visiting rate. In Gujarat, the fee of the Sabarmati riverfront is very higher, which attracts only foreign tourists. Therefore, the more the historical places and art exhibits charge money in their tickets, the fewer people like to visit who live in that area.

Moreover, solving these obstacles have several ways. If organizers of ancient sites and museums reduce the rate of prices, many local visitors afford it in their budgets. Furthermore, if they try to exhibit new arts and things for certain periods, which increase interest in people. These two ways will lead native ones to visit that particular area more. Since the art museum of China started to more exhibitions on monthly basis with fifty per cent discounts and memberships, the ratio of national visitors increased drastically. Hence, the more new arts and things in museums, the more they will attract participants.

In conclusion, having huge fees in historical areas and museums, which decreases the proportion of local visitors and their interests. However, when these places start to exhibit new arts and things with lower fees, it will attract not only more natives but also foreigners as well.