Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Indeed, museums are clear indicators that represent the identity of a nation as they denote traditions, historical tools, and the way people used to live in old times. Some people believe that showing parts of the history of a country in cultural places deserves a generous donation, while others see more benefits when people are allowed to visit them without paying any money.

Dedication of a reasonable entrance fee to museums can bring substantial merits. Museums are places where not only open up an opportunity to local people as well as travellers to gain information about the history of a country, but also can provide visitors with some fascinating services like live shows and on-stage performances to present historical events in a more tangible way. Furthermore, museums can enrich the experience of the watchers by hiring some professional experts having a valuable collection of data as long as an excellent oratory skill to convey it. Going one step further, museums need regular maintenance and a 24-hour safety service, ensuring that invaluable collection of items are going to be kept intact for the future generations. All mentioned facilities and services require a great deal of money that can be obtained from the money people pay as entrance fee.

Turning to the other side of the argument, there is a group of opponents who question the admission fee. They are on the opinion that the cultural places should be free for the population. They persistently emphasize that if people have to pay money, they may become gradually reluctant to allot time to cultural activities. In addition to ordinary residents and tourists who are interested in historical background of a society, students are considered as the main target of the museums. Schools usually arrange some specific tours for the students to be enlightened about the history behind their nation. If the museums make them spend money, educational institutes may not be able to afford it, disappointing them to serve such useful programs.

Weighing all the arguments presented above, I can conclude that the museums should ask the visitors to pay the entrance fee since this would make the owners provide more effective services and programs.