Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are highly considered as intriguing and important destinations for citizens who want to explore a country or area. However, there are arguments between the benefits and drawbacks of the museum’s admission fee. In my opinion, I do believe that the advantages take over the disadvantageous ones because of several particular reasons.

On the one hand, museums which apply entrance charge will have economic benefits. Firstly, the income from the fee contributes greatly to the budget spent on maintenance. In order to provide visitors with the best experience, items exhibited must be in good condition; therefore, they are frequently checked, cleaned and repaired. Consequently, the process required numerous bucks which the regular money from the government is not enough. Secondly, museums which are specialized in art need a great amount of money to buy and organize art exhibitions. Without the admission fee, they cannot be able to maintain the work and provide visitors with sought after masterpieces. For example, most museums in Singapore have a quite expensive entrance fee, however, visitors are satisfied with the service and the number of things and knowledge they obtain from the museums.

On the other hand, charging an admission fee can cause several problems, especially in developing countries. The first disadvantage is that the number of visitors to museums will significantly decrease. In fact, most museum-goers are students; therefore, if they have to pay, they will lose their interest and go to other entertainment places instead. Moreover, a huge number of working people or people from rural areas are not able to pay a visit to museums since their budget is not enough for those luxurious activities. Another detrimental effect is that the charge will limit museums’ educational purposes. Extremely valuable historical lessons which are conducted inside museums will be overlooked due to the cost. Moreover, citizens are prone to the lack of opportunities to experience the priceless paintings or photos which are displayed occasionally in museums. As a result, both economic and social values will be severely influenced.

In conclusion, charging admission fees in museums can cause more bad effects than benefits. Therefore, governments should allocate a suitable amount of money for museums to run instead of enacting the entrance fee.