Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views that whether museums should set the entrance fees for admission. While setting entrance fees may be inconvenient for the visitors, I still believe that setting fees for admission is more beneficial to the museums.

On the one hand, the museums with no fees can encourage people to visit the museums and earn the valuable knowledge of traditional culture, science and technology etc. Museums are the great sources of information for students to explore the extra knowledge that cannot acquire from their lessons or books. By providing a free interactive learning environment for students, they are triggered to learn and become more motivate to think. In addition, the museums can be the medium to spread our domestic history and culture to the foreign visitors. The free of entrance can attract more visitors to understand our community deeply, which is also benefit to the tourism industries.

On the other hand, although charging people for entering the museums may be reduce the attractive of museums, it is perhaps more important to set the entrance fees for reducing the burden of the museums. The major advantage is that the fees for admission can control the amount of visitors. It is interesting to notice that there are massive of people visit the free museums during the public holidays, and the situation of overload can be relieve by setting the fees. Secondly, museums usually store many historical or rare materials that cannot be restored, administrators of museums always need lots of budgets for the maintenance of high quality exhibitions. There are several examples that museums stop to operate due to lack of budgets. Therefore, setting fees is crucial for supporting the sustainable development of museums.

In conclusion, I can understand why people might argue that the museums should be free for visiting, but it seems to me that the advantages of setting entrance fees overweigh this drawbacks.