In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of a large, extended family. Is this a positive or negative trend?

fIn this day and age, many countries and regions have witnessed the emergence of a new tendency in which people from large cities often opt for living by themselves or in nuclear families in lieu of large, multigenerational family units. Albeit several benefits offered by this tendency including privacy and the so-called improved ‘survival’ skills, I am of the opinion that this should be deemed an overall negative development for both society and each individual.

Smaller family size or solo living might be beneficial to a certain extent. In fact, a nuclear family, to my knowledge, offers members ample opportunity to develop a sense of individuality through freedom of choice, increased privacy and simultaneously reduce reliance on others. this shares a causal relationship with fewer family conflicts, as often exemplified in extended families where every member always voices their opinions and asserts personal demands without meticulous consideration about the others. Furthermore/ What is more, living on one’s own benefits each individual due largely to self-reliance in which responsibility will be shouldered to complete every task. Thus, it is believed to probably enhance ‘survival’ skills such as communication ability and interpersonal skills. A typical example of this would be my best friend, who has been living separately from parents for almost 10 years. He is currently in charge of fulfilling household chores, allocating part of his income for various bills and delivering significant decisions on several life matters. All the hurdles have successfully been addressed, which results in his confidence and gracious manners, coupled with flexible personal skills.

On the other hand, I wholeheartedly contend that a shift from multigenerational families to smaller family units presents more drawbacks. From an individual’s perspective, those who live alone are susceptible to isolation and might gradually develop potentially life-threatening symptoms relating to depression like suicidal thoughts. Under unexpected circumstances, these individuals, rather than calling for help from family members, might be put at risk if, for example, a heart attack happens, thereby jeopardising their own life on account of unavailable medical assistance. From a social perspective, more burdens would be placed on each nuclear family where both parents should attempt to work industriously for better sustainable finance. Undoubtedly, these families, and perhaps an increasing number of struggling two-generation households, will be locked into a vicious circle of poverty, and exert detrimental influences on socio-economic development in the long run.

In conclusion, although the choice of living alone or in nuclear families is closely connected with enhanced life skills and more privacy, I still hold a firm belief that this tendency brings about more disadvantages in terms of individual isolation and a slow-down factor for social development.