Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.How important is t to maintain old buildings

While historical buildings are preserved by the government under the law, some aggressive citizens think it is better to rebuild another one than maintain the original ones. In my opinion, keeping the historical site is the best way to remain ancestor's legacy; however, if the remaining are unable to fix, rebuild is an alternative choice.

Most of the old buildings are remained from previous generation for many years which can be historically meaningful to us in keeping the tradition. For example, Ximen red house theatre is an over 100-year-old theatre located in Taipei city. It serves crowds of people by providing arts, shows, and movies for decades. It’s too old and too dangerous to the people, so citizens in Taipei decide to pay a huge amount of money to keep it standing than tear it down.

In the other case, old Taiwanese aboriginal tribes in the deep mountain is considered to be less important for majority people in this land. Some people suggest knocking it down in trade of building a new houses for living people. But the whole area is now protected by law due to the historical causes to minority race. This is an example for history stand in the way of progress.

Maintain an ancient building could costs a lot of fortune but we can afford it, but if we abandon ancestor's legacy for being economic, we will lost more than just a building. Therefore, I believe keeping is better than replacement in terms of old buildings preservation.