Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

In today’s era, old buildings signify culture, value, path breaking architecture and so on, which play a pivotal role in defining any country's prosperity. However, some people are in favour of replacing these old buildings with new one. Thus, I am going to highlight the benefits and their association in bringing more pace in the progress of the country.

To begin with, old buildings are primarily known as a silent story teller, which in itself confine various suspense and valuable information, which may help people in a manifold ways. Firstly, old buildings symbolize the history of any country because old buildings are the most reliable source for determining any country's picture of time immemorial. Secondly, architecture of old buildings have no match in today’s world architecture, and has made people to mull over it, thereby become a matter of deep research, which can assist present architects in bringing more magnificent buildings. For instance, it has been found that historical buildings indirectly ensure huge growth for any country in terms of tourism and many more.

Meanwhile, old buildings act as a bridge in connecting today's world with ancient era, thus enable any country to have rapid progress on account of myriad reasons. Firstly, development of any country combines many factors wherein old buildings take a core part because this makes any country a perfect tourist destination, consequently create recognition in world as a result ensures money flow. In addition, the development of any country lies on people, hence old buildings demonstrate any country's civilization which in turn sometimes make people more patriotic and thus, result harmony and fraternity among people.

In conclusion, I opine that replacement of old buildings with new is just like obliterating history, which is not favourable for any country.