Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nations history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

It cannot be denied that a number of old buildings are protected by law to maintain its historical value, but some people believe that they should be demolished in order to build new ones. In this essay, I shall discuss the importance of maintaining old buildings and assess whether history hinders the process of structure development.

Quite a number of buildings are preserved by law mainly because it serve as a cultural or religious symbol to a country. One example is the Taal Church which is the biggest catholic church in Asia that is being maintained for years. Another reason is that they serve as story tellers. Old buildings like the Rizal Park illustrates historical events as it narrates the struggle of Dr. Jose Rizal under the Spanish colonization before he was shot in front of his countrymen. Lastly, ancestral buildings are well protected and promoted in order to attract tourists. One tourist destination that a lot of people visit is Vigan Ilocos Norte due to the fact that it showcases different ancestral houses that were built during the Spanish era, and it also mesmerizes many tourists because of its classical appearance.

Meanwhile, it is clear that history really affects the process of structure development due to its value and contribution to a country. As a result, historical buildings are maintained and remained unharmed for a long period of time.

As a conclusion, there are reasons why preserving and maintaining old buildings are important, and history plays a great factor in preventing structural improvement.