Many parents today organize extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

The omnipresent pressure of procuring flying colors has fueled toxic competition among students and sparked parents’ concern over their studies. Consequently, today witnesses a precipitous climb in the number of extra classes for children. While adults feel more secure when their kids participate in these supplementary lessons; I am at loggerheads with the idea of keeping children’s timetables occupied.

As a student ranking third in my class, I can assert that classes after school yield no promising outcome should pupils deem lessons tedious and unprepossessing. This is not an anecdotal statement; although I do not take lessons on weekends. I can attain higher grades than those who do. What piques my heed is that whenever students feel detached from the contents taught, they can not do their best no matter how assiduously they spend scrutinizing papers or doodling on jotters. Quality trumps quantity, to enhance students’ academic levels, there is more to execute than just compelling them to be in a cramped class and hoping against hope that they will gradually measure up to the set criteria.

On the other hand, begrudgingly attending these classes catalyzes miscellaneous bad habits. I have heard one case where instead of focusing on the teacher, a student mostly applied his time to playing smartphones hid beneath the table, which indicates that extra lessons not only fail to illuminate pupils but they also make them develop detrimental pastimes. In addition, that students start using classes after school as a pretext to go play games in some Internet booth happens egregiously rife these days. Parents, simultaneously, pin preposterous hopes on devoting a large number of their emoluments thinking it will benefit their kids, resulting in a pitiable situation.

To encapsulate, whether students joining extra classes will have better results or not depends on their will; if they love learning, there may be brighter things to come. Otherwise, parents should not force their children as it only leads to counter-productivity.