Many people believe that formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

What is your view of examinations?

In this high demand society, exams have been an internal part of education. Some students argue that hand-written examinations are not the most effective measure to mark student's grades. In my point of view, I believe that although tests are of paramount importance, they still contain certain repercussions, and there should be more methods of examinations in the school curriculum.

Test results play an essential role in assessing students' knowledge and progression. This type of measurement creates a fair condition for all attendees sitting for the exams. Therefore, teachers and professors can select good students and assist others to perform better and gain greater marks. However, examinations have attributed to the increasing rates of illnesses of people. In other words, when a person prepares for those upcoming tests, he or she has to cope with the fear of bad marks, anxiety, and a large amount of stress. Consequently, people's well-being could be affected tremendously. According to a certain survey, researchers have stated that the more regular students take the exams, the higher percentage of them suffering mental illnesses. That is the reason why I think educators should produce more alternative methods to test learners' abilities.

Introducing different forms of assessment can mitigate pressure and encourage students to learn more effectively. Tests should be well-matched to the content and activities of the learning environments as well as they should be attached to real-life work and practical skills. In Singapore, most of their school allow students to test themselves by playing and enrolling in activities at school. This method has made Singapore's education one of the most prestigious and advantageous education systems in the world.

In conclusion, the examination can help the school to ensure learners' grades and qualities. Nevertheless, educators should include other forms of assessment if they want to get the best quality and results.