Many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement What is your view of examination

People have differing views with regard to the question of how to evaluate educational achievements better in recent days. In my view, both formal “pen and paper” exams and a range of other measures can be applied together to promote assessing students’ result.

On the one hand, it is clear that formal “pen and paper” tests can certainly encourage students to be more studious. This is because those examinations require scholars to spend much time to study books and references, meaning that they will have significant academic knowledge after graduating. Moreover, by doing writing practices, students have to learn how to arrange their ideas in logical orders. This leads to the gradual improvement in their logical thinking which is necessary to have a successful career in the workplace.

On the other hand, I believe that educational assessment should be changed to suit modern society. Firstly, examining candidates would try to use online tests to examine candidates, especially in distance training. As a result, these universities will have more students and save more money than when they perform “pen and paper” examinations in the previous viewpoint. For example, in order to hold a final test by using the internet, the university just needs a program to send and control student’s exams and do not need more teacher to manage and mark the tests. Secondly, practical tests are very useful for all students in many aspects of work and life, which means students would have a more practical approach to their job. Because companies nowadays tend to hire workers who have solid practical experience. For- instance, in order to be a hotel manager, one is required to finish his training courses, which are not in “pen and paper” exams.

In conclusion, although “pen and paper” tests can have positive impacts on assessing education achievement, I believe that the alternative methods should be applied to adapt to the modern world.