Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

It is widely argued that foreign tourism has an adverse impact on host countries. There is a variety of reasons behind this opinion, and several solutions ought to be applied to change these oppositional attitudes.

There are two important reasons why local residents often consider international tourism as a cause of serious problems in their country. One reason in that it may have a bad impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices because tourists may be not sensitive toward to local resident’s feeling. For example, Western tourists visiting to developing countries as Vietnam or Thailand may be rowdy or wear unsuitable clothing, which might have an undesirable influence on young local people who copy immodest or procovative behavior and fashions. Another reason is that tourists often pollute or litter beautiful spots and destroy famous preservation area. These situations cause the aggressive to local residents who live around these areas where day by day they see rubbishes throw everywhere, and the preservations are collapsing.

Therefore, measures must be taken by government, tourism agencies, and foreign tourists to change these negative attitudes toward tourists. Firstly, government and travel companies should inform to tourist the concerns of local residents to them avoid these misunderstanding behaviors. Secondly, tourist agencies must enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry, ensure that local operators are responsible for clearing litter and disposal of waste in right ways that do not harm the environment.

In conclusion, only by addressing the concerns of local people will negative attitudes to international tourism be changed.