Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that the coverage of mass media celebrities affects negatively to children. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view since it also has a number of positive effects.

On the one hand, it goes without saying that taking an avid interest in well-known people provides certain benefits. Firstly, children may be inspired by stars’ strenuous path to success which means that they can learn how to follow their idol’s footsteps to overcome difficulties and climb the ladder of success. Secondly, famous people are sources of entertainment for the kids for the purpose of relaxation after school. For example, fans of Taylor Swift can tirelessly listen to their idol’s songs and repeat them without hesitation. As a result, she will get a huge earning from streaming platforms while her fans can get relaxed.

On the other hand, it is obvious that mass media coverage of stars has certain drawbacks. In the first place, celebrities frequently appear in general public with high-end clothes of luxury fashion brands to show off their status, hence, children may easily imitate their flashy styles in spite of the expensive price of those outfits, especially those in formative years. Another disadvantage is the children’s excess homage to celebrities. Once they are involved in scandals, the fans can mimic the actions or start losing belief in life due to their impressionable age. For instance, Lance Amstrong, an eight-time champion of Tour de France, was found to have used doping and he was banned for taking part in professional competing forever. Prior to the problem, he was a role model for his unending perseverance, however, because of his outrageous wrongdoing, his popularity dramatically decreases.

In conclusion, the media coverage of famous people has both negative and positive impacts. Even so, I firmly believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.