Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook), have huge negative impacts on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times, the widespread use of virtual communities such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for socialising have become a phenomenon that raises concerns amongst many. Although it is true that this trend has some detrimental effects on individuals and society, i opine that there are positive sides as well.

On the one hand, social networking sites allow people to communicate and remain in contact with friends as well as meet new people. It enhances creative expression through the use of tools such as blogging and messaging to post ideas. For instance, people can easily make and send event invitations at the comfort of their homes rather than going through the rigors of printing and distributing hard copy invites. In addition, the social media is an excellent platform for advertising and marketing products to a wider audience. Thus, individual entrepreneurs and companies gain more attention because their profiles are available for all users of the social network to see. For example, Laura Ikeji, a popular fashion blogger and social media influencer in Nigeria, owns an Instagram page with the semblance of a complete fashion catalogue, having over 1.8million followers to her credit. This contributed to her success as a revered young fashion icon in Africa. Furthermore, online platforms are sources of learning and teaching. It serves as a gateway of exchanging academic information and materials. A clear example is seen on Telegram, where academic cohorts come together to discuss and share useful examination materials.

On the other hand, the increasing popularity of the social media as a means of communication tend to affect the traditional face to face social interactions. More so, because of the anonymity such interactions confers, people can be exposed to cyber bullying. All these affects personal relationships with others and hence a threat to the peaceful coexistence we all wish to enjoy. Also, online platforms have become a fertile ground where cyber criminals and identity thieves perpetrate their fraudulent activities. They hack accounts, steal sensitive

information and divert public funds.

In conclusion, whereas issues such as cyber crimes and cyber bullying can be seen as demerits of social networking, benefits such as been a good media for advertising, as well as enabling social and academic interactions also abound.