Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films.

Why could this be?

Should governments give more financial support to local film industries

Nowadays, it is common knowledge that foreign films are holding more appeal to the audience than are domestically produced ones. Some people believe there do seem to be legitimate reasons for this phenomenon and I personally support the idea that more fund injection should be made by the government to the film industries.

To begin with, people tend to find overseas films more enjoyable than those produced locally for a number of reasons. Firstly, it is undoubted that advanced technology and innovation in some developed countries allow filmmakers to choose the best equipment and techniques available for the completion of a film. Meanwhile, in some developing countries, filmmakers remain rather inexperienced and there also exists a lack of necessary technologies, posing a challenge for the filmmaking industry. Secondly, the worldwide success of several blockblusters starring famous actors and actresses has made a huge impression on the audience, which step by step leads to a general consensus that foreign films are always superior to domestic ones.

As foreign films have entered and are capturing the domestic market, governments should stimulate the local film industries by offering financial assistance. Investing in this area would be an effective way to not only provide the audience with more movies of high quality but also promote the national cultures to both younger generations and international friends. Additionally, such movement could offer amateur or inexperienced filmmakers more opportunities to get access to state-of-the-art equipment and thereby develop their professional competence since the shortage of capital and investment has long been a thorny problem for them.

In conclusion, many people choose to watch foreign movies for the belief that their quality outweighs that of local ones. However, the situation could be mitigated should governments take appropriate measures to support the domestic film industries.