Many people say that we have developed into a “throw-away”
culture, because we are filling up our environment with so many
plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of. To what
extent do you agree with this opinion and what measures can you
recommend reducing this problem?
Environmentalists today are campaigning for “reduce, recycle and re-use” in a bid to save
the world, but we as a nation, have adopted “replace” as our mantra. This and many other
factors are leading to a throwaway society. In this essay, I shall discuss some steps that can
be taken to solve this problem.
To begin with, modern lifestyle has contributed greatly to the increasing amount of waste
and garbage we produce every day. In other words, we have turned into a materialistic and
mass-consumption society where we use more and throw away more than ever before.
Once new things are acquired, we dispose off these “unwanted” things to second-hand
shops or just in the trash cans. The solution lies in changing our attitude. We should get old
things repaired and try to use them as long as possible.
Secondly, the markets today are flooded with cheap, single-use-only things that are more in
demand than high priced quality items. Our houses and closets seem to be overflowing with
goods that are more in quantity and less in value. Then, there is too much packaging done
by the companies in a bid to make their things more attractive. Here too, the onus lies with
us. We should not buy things with excessive packaging. This will deter companies from
doing too much packaging. We can also bring our own personal shopping bags instead of
using plastic bags provided by stores and shops. Besides, the government can enforce
stricter laws on companies to use biodegradable packaging.
Furthermore, plastics, waste metal, glass can be recycled. Companies can also contribute by
developing the new raw material which is recyclable and will ultimately lead to less garbage.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, individuals, business and the government can
share the responsibility to reduce the amount of waste material and to save the earth. If we
do not take steps to tackle this problem on a war footing, our Earth will become un-
inhabitable.