Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

In the age of industrialization, it is true that the effects of modern communication technology are a highly prevalent issue in our community. Numerous people believe that it has adverse influences on social relationships. Personally, I partly agree with this notion.

On the one hand, technological advances In communication could lead to social isolation and depression. People who spend too much time chatting online instead of interacting face to face with their family or friends are separating themselves from the real world. We can hardly ever find a true friend who is willing to help us overcome our challenges in life just by talking on the internet. Many of us might experience feelings of depression and isolation when realizing that we have many friends in our virtual world, while in the real world there is no one with who we can share joy and sadness. Technological developments in the field of communication could put people’s love lives at risk. Many couples decide to solve their problems via email or Facebook instead of meeting in person, which, in my opinion, makes the situation become even worse. This is because text messages or icons cannot help us understand other people’s true feelings, which easily causes misunderstanding and communication breakdowns.

On the one hand, Firstly if used wisely, electronic communication tools can help strengthen our social relationships. Facebook, Skype, or other apps give people the opportunity to make friends with people from other parts of the world. Secondly, technology has made it much easier for people to keep in contact with their friends or loved ones. In the past, people had to write letters as a way of communication with those living far away and it often took several days or even weeks for those letters to reach their receivers. With to help of technological devices and applications, it only takes several minutes or even seconds to send an email or a text message.

In conclusion, though technology has certainly revolutionized communication between people, it still contains potential risks. However, I believe that it is up to us how to utilize state-of-the-art communication technology to take advantage of it.