Many people today are choosing to travel to other countries. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, there has been a growing trend for tourists to travel to foreign nations. In my opinion, this can be explained by two major reasons, and I also believe that although the trend is beneficial for humans, it does more harm than good in the long run, especially to the environment.

To begin with, there are two primary reasons resulting in the popularity of international travel. One of them is the low-cost airlines are getting more popular in recent years. Thanks to the advance of technology, airline tickets have become more affordable for people from different classes, ranging from lower to upper classes, to travel even to other countries. Another reason is that people's wealth is increasing. Today people often work more than they used to in the past, leading to a higher salary they are offered and the living standard, as a result, is improved. Therefore, people have more money to not only meet their basic needs but also pursue their interests like travel, for example.

In my opinion, the growing popularity of cross-country travel appears both positive and negative. First, the trend can benefit people, especially those in host countries, as it may generate more employment opportunities. A variety of jobs are created, such as hotel managers, tour guides, or drivers, to meet the growing demand for accommodation or transportation of tourists, which can generate more income for host countries. Looking at the future, however, the development of international travel may lead to the degradation of the environment. To be specific, a vast majority of wildlife habitat is demolished to make way for service buildings, like hotels and restaurants. Beaches are spoilt with trash and as a result, lose their natural beauty.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons for the development of international travel and I believe that the trend is advantageous for local people but disadvantageous for the environment in the long time.