Many people today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out.

What are the causes?

What are the solutions?

It is a common belief that many people are nowadays feeling insecure. This essay will address the increase of criminal activities as the primary reason, and provide tightened public security as a viable solution.

In many countries, especially in developing nations such as Indonesia, there has been a significant increase in criminal activities in the community since many people are suffering in the pandemic era. Many people have experienced losing jobs because many companies decide to lay off many of their workers to cut financial spending. This leads to many people being unemployed and to meet a daily basic need they may commit criminal acts such as pickpocketing or even robbery. This phenomenon is disturbing many people in society resulting in increasing insecure feelings.

To deal with this problem, I think the government can take several approaches. First of all, the government has to increase security in the community by deploying more police to patrol all the time. This way, people can directly seek help if they are the victim of criminal activity, and law enforcement can directly go to the crime scene to provide assistance for the victim or catch lawbreaker. Secondly, providing hotline services is also believed as a suitable solution since if people witness a criminal act, they can report the activity to the police. Thus, many people in the community can help each other to maintain peace and secure life.

To sum up, people have lived in an insecure situation due to the increase of criminal acts in the community. Government can provide various support for people in the community to overcome this problem such as increasing the number of law enforcement and providing hotline services.