Many people use their own cars rather public transport, so it is up to the government to encourage people to uses buses and trains instead. Do you agree or disagree?

The excessive use of private cars has been claimed to be the culprit of traffic congestion and air pollution in many major cities. Therefore, I strongly agree with the idea that the government should prompt their citizens to shift to public transportation in order to curb those problems.

Air degradation due to car's exhaust has raised public concern about healthy issue. Consequently, the reduction in the number of cars could cut down on emissions and thus yield a healthy lifestyle. It could also alleviate environmental problems as it is commonly believed that global warming partly stems from CO2 release. On top of that, the public transportation fares are completely affordable to every individual as these vehicles are funded by the government. As a result, the use of mass transit could save a lot of budgets as well as foster the economy of the entire community.

Another reason to opt for public transport is that traffic jam is mainly attributed to the rapid increase in the number of personal vehicles. If people choose to commute by buses or trains, it could greatly facilitate the government to tackle road congestions. However, some downsides still exist and should not be overlooked. As a matter of fact, the process of waiting for buses could be extremely time-consuming and frustrating. Still, everyone is on the threshold of faster and more reliable services from public transport with the constant advance in technology as a facilitator.

In conclusion, I would side with those who believe that traveling by mass transit should be widely accepted as its merits far outweigh the disadvantages.