Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting event bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and include your opinion, supported by examples.

There is a dispute over whether it would bring more benefits than damage to the country which hosted international sport related events. Some view it an opportunity to promote positive image for host country in front of the whole world, while others think extravagant events like that is a disaster rather than a good thing. I personally agree with the second opinion.

For those people who oversee the positive sides of catering splendid events, they probably would argue that the temporary booming of local visits could bring significant economic benefits. Because obviously what comes with tourists is the coming of increasing amount of consumption, at least for a while, which directly helps local economy. In addition, another potential contribution provided by the events is culture promotion, which also resulted from international communications. For example, the London 2012 Summer Olympics successfully made the double decker bus a famous symbol of London among worldwide.

Nonetheless, the aftermath of every single fabulous event like the Olympics Competition should definitely not be ignored, especially given the fact that the substantial benefits are almost ephemeral. As a matter of fact, glamourous stadium which government throws millions of dollars on usually could not be put into proper use again as big events do not happen all the year round. Furthermore, the maintenance fees is another huge waste of taxpayer’s money. Apart from economical problem, huge influx of visitors causes troubles for local traffic and environment, too. Indeed, the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil has been boycotted by local people in 2014 because of the issues discussed above.

In my view, the temporary benefits brought by hosting splendid international sports events are limited in many perspectives, while the negative influences for local people are real and substantial. Therefore, it may not be a wise decision to sacrifice the warfare of citizens in exchange for shortsighted economical or political gains.