In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is true that girls often enroll arts classes and boys who tend to apply science classes. There are many reasons for this and I think that it is better to implement any changes to this tendency.

There are two main reasons why studying art subjects is often female students' priority while male students are usually attracted to science subjects. Firstly, it has been proven that the different choices between two sexes depend on gender-specific personalities and competence. Therefore, girls tend to join classes that require tremendous self-discipline and patience such as language classes while boys tend to take part in classes that ask considerable analytical abilities like mathematics classes. Secondly, this is a traditional opinion that is engraved on people’s mind and affects their choices and even further many activities of the society. For example, science-related jobs are often expected to recruit men.

However, it is necessary to make changes to this trends. Students should be entitled to participate in any that they find suitable to gain results with flying colors and cultivate their aptitudes without suffering social prejudices. As a result, they are unrestricted to follow their desires and contribute to encouraging gender balance in the workplace and women’s rights. In the United State of America, the government promulgates policies to attract staff in STEM-related jobs, especially women, which could be taken as a particularly salient example of this.

In conclusion, there are some known reasons for this trend and I believe that this tendency should be changed for students to have their freedom of choice and bring a lot of benefits.