In many schools and unversities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg.physic). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is common in education systems all over the world that girls attempt to learn about arts subjects while boys are more interested in sciences. There are various reasons behind this point of views and I personally suppose that this trend need to be converted.

There there two primary reasons. One reason is that the society always exists a mindset of sexual discrimination. Individuals believe that women only have ability to learn art subjects. Furthermore, science subjects are not their field. Similarity, People also suppose that men have a good grasp of subjects belonging to sciences or technologies. For an example, women are believed to work as teachers or chefs while engineer, scientist are only for men. Another reason is gender-specific characteristic that women themselves are attracted more by arts subjects and men in favor of sciences. Due to the feminine, selecting art subjects helps most of woman to guarantee a successful career, likewise, thanks to the logicality of men’s brains, it is easier for them to pursue a science field.

I am convinced that this tendency should be changed as fast as possible. People have freedom to choose whatever they like instead of limiting themselves because of the gender mindset. There are a lot of women who are rejected to attend science classes just because they are female. For an example, in Japan, a medical university fixed the results of the entrance test of woman to rule out them. It is unfair for women and a number of women proved that they are able to do whatever men do, as a scientist, a politician and achieved such incredible achievements such as Marie Curie, Hilary Clinton. It also happened to male, there are wide range of men who famous for being hair stylist, doing make up like Nam Trung. Moreover, changes in people’ s mind will open the door to golden opportunities to youngsters who are in search of chances to show up themselves and balance the workforce.

In conclusion, there are many reasons for this situation and in my opinion, It should be changed for a better world.