Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad?

In today’s world, there has been an accelerating trend of students pursuing oversea tertiary education. This trend has many advantages such as better educational quality, as well as disadvantages namely culture shock. Both the benefits and drawbacks will be discussed hereafter.

On the one hand, there are a number of obstacles that students might suffer when studying abroad. Firstly, those studying oversea might encounter culture shock and culture-related problems. Living in a brand-new country with the incredible new lifestyle, food, custom, tradition and social atmosphere could provoke foreigners into the feeling of frustration, anxiety, and homesickness, leading to stress and bad academic performance. Secondly, students usually struggle with high costs of living in a foreign country. Besides the exorbitant expense of college’s fee, prices associated with accommodation, local transportation and daily demands are also high. Therefore, in order to cover the bills, many oversea learners opt to devote a considerable amount of time to do a part-time job, which significantly affect their performance at university.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why studying in a foreign country is beneficial. The major advantage towards studying abroad is good educational equality. With the teaching method of highly skilled and experienced lecturers and professors, undergraduates could acquire in-depth and specialized knowledge in the chosen field, hence getting more job opportunities later in life. In addition to education, navigating in a foreign destination encourages foreigners to form a better sense of independence and responsibility. Oversea learners, for instance, have to manage to do housework such as cooking, washing and cleaning and how to allocate time effectively between studying and part-time work, which in turn tend to help students to be more self-reliant and mature as an adult.

In conclusion, the aforementioned pros and cons display that there are many strengths and weaknesses regarding studying aboard. However, the drawbacks are more likely to pale in comparison to the benefits, thus if students are able to overcome those difficulties, the experience will be extremely rewarding.