Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they are at school.

Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

The majority of students find their academic learning at university or college more challenging than that at school. Primary reasons for this matter will be discussed and solutions to the problem offered in the following essay.

There are some main causes for this issue. One cause is that self-discipline is the key to success at tertiary education. It means that learning performance and grading reports of one student depend solely on his self-control. If he is dedicated to his study commitment, then he would balance the time for individual study after school and other activities. He would also organize personal learning sessions logically and is always willing to advance further. In contrast, if a student lacks the power of self-discipline, his academic results would suffer commensurately. Another cause is financial maintenance. In other words, not all students enter university with equal condition backgrounds. Some students are comfortably supported by their parents, others are not. The students without economic aids have to search a part-time job in order to afford the tuition fees and living expenses. Sometimes taking only one job is not always sufficient to cover the basic costs, so they have to take more positions. Most of their spare time, as a result, is occupied by the work engagement, therefore leaving no time for studies.

There are some feasible solutions to the matter. Firstly, students should develop concentration for formal learning. Several ways could be taken. They could team up with a group of diligent classmates so that group learning timetables could be stringently scheduled. When a student with little ability to control his learning periods, joining such association would accelerate his self-control powers. Also, the students could master internal focus by learning how to omitting external distractions. For example, once after a student sits for his personal learning time, he should eliminate all of the available distracting objects, such as phones or computers, and stays focused on his study until the end of the learning session. Finally, the students should prioritize their study time. Certainly, they need to have a job to earn living wages, but they need to adjust their mindset: not to devoted most time to jobs, but to individual studies. The time investment in accomplishing high marks for the grade reports are more important and rewarding than the short-term investment in temporary jobs.

In conclusion, there are two prime reasons for the hardship to university students, and various measures can be taken to tackle this significant problem.