Many working people do not have enough free time off work to spend with their families and friends. Why? What are the effects on family life and society?

Nowadays, many people in the working class do not have much free time to spend with their family members and friends outside work. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this situation and describe the possible effects of this problem.

In my opinion, the major cause of this problem is the high pressure from their daily job. Today, most people are working from 9 to 5 and some of them are doing another part-time job in the weekend to afford their expenses. In the past, people were living in a big family with many members so that they could rely on each other in daily life. However, in modern society, people prefer to live alone or in a small family. This forces them to work mainly on their own to afford their living cost because it is mostly the only option. Moreover, due to the pressure from their works, they often come home late and feel exhausted. Instead of hanging out with their friends or their family members, they prefer to stay at home to recharge their energies after a long working day.

The possible effects of this problem on their family life and society are the increasing divorce rate and the declining labor force participation in the future. First of all, the lacking time with their families leads to an unhappy marriage. In many countries in European Union, many couples have decided to end their marriage because they can’t find a way to have enough quality time together. Secondly, more and more people insist to stay single or prefer not to have children. This will cause a greater effect on the labor force in the coming years. For example, in many Asian countries such as South Korea, Japan, and China, there are more old people than newborn babies, and these countries are facing a big problem that they will not have enough working force in years to come.

To sum up, spending too much time at work affects a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by high pressure and burnout from work and results in increasing divorce rate and loss of labor force in coming time.