Many working people get little or no exercise during the working day or in their free time and have health problems as a result.

Why do many working people not get enough exercise?

What can be done about this problem?

There have been a tremendous increase in the number of unhealthy people especially working people which is due to lack of exercises done during working hours or their leisure time. This essay will consider the reasons for this trend and the possible solutions.

The driving force behind this is that most working people live a far distance from their places of work, and are expected to resume work at the earliest hour of the day; hence such people cannot afford to exercise before leaving their houses due to the nature of their jobs and traffic experienced on their way to work. For instance, in Lagos, most people who work on the

Island of Lagos and live on the mainland do not have enough time on their hands for physical fitness before living for work because of traffic encountered on the road. Furthermore, during their leisure time they would rather spend most of their time resting due to the stressed experienced at work as well as spending some time with family and friends.

To avoid the damage lack of physical fitness can cause, working people should be educated on the need for exercises and its health benefits. For example companies should organize programmes where staff can partake in outdoor sports, also seminars should be organized on the need for a healthy lifestyle such that where individuals do not have sufficient time for indoor sports, they can as well adopt the lifestyle of healthy eating.

In conclusion, employees do not get enough exercise due to the nature of their jobs and perhaps the distance from their homes to work which in the long run leads to health issues. However, employers should help in educating her staff in the need for a healthy lifestyle.