Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

Owning a negative attitude about learning is considered to be common in a large number of the young who left school. This trend is caused by several main factors, and some measures should be taken to address this issue.

To begin with, there are some reasons why young people keep their negatives to learning when leaving school. The first cause is that young learners are forced to study too many theoretical subjects which they are not interested in, and that knowledge might not be applied in their real-life later. Therefore, they often consider that it is not useful and essential to learn too much at school. Furthermore, parents tend to put the high pressure of educational outcomes on their youngsters. In fact, in order to get higher academic performance than other peers, parents usually require their offspring to attend extra classes after school time. As a result, this makes them feel exhausted and stressful when it comes to learning.

However, this problem might be tackled by several solutions. Firstly, theoretical subjects should be reduced so that more soft skills might be taught in the principal curriculum. For example, young people should be educated in more classes related to communication and problem-solving skills, which enhances their confidence when entering real life. Hence, this method causes these young people to make more concentration on their learning. Secondly, instead of enforcing young people to get high scores in all subjects, parents should encourage them to allocate more time and efforts to the subjects they have a deep passion to maximize their potential. As a result, learning is likely to become more interesting and useful to young learners.

In conclusion, there are some primary reasons leading to the fact that many young people tend to hold a negative attitude towards learning after leaving school. However, this problem might be solved by practical approaches suggested above.