In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals as food or other products, such as medicines and clothing. Do you agree or disagree?

Much attention has been drawn to the threatened species which are being exploited for human sake. In order to reverse this detrimental process, one idea would rather everyone consumed vegetarian products than killed animals for their meat.

Advocates of this believe eating vegetable and fruit can lower the extinction rate of many species. Animal food contains protein which is good for human health, but vegetarian products also have various healthy nutritions as well. Supposing a person needs a certain amount of protein, he can get enough of that amount by consuming sources such as chestnut, cashew and soy bean.

However, there are aspects which have not been properly considered. Consuming meat is obviously unavoidable. A small piece of meat can be more nutritious than a big amount of vegetables. People believe vegetables and meat contain the same amount of nutritions as if there are no differences in their price. Organic vegetables sold in supermarkets are notoriously expensive, let alone the net weight of such vegetables to contain an equal content of protein as a slice of meat does.

In spite of that, humans should only consume farm animals like cows, chicken, duck and so on. As for products made of animals such as clothings, their use should be entirely eliminated, if not prohibited by laws. There is no benefit from wearing a coat made from animal skin or owning a wallet with crocodile skin since it’s just a appearance item. Regarding medicines made from animals, especially rhino horns, people believe that rhino horns can cure cancer, but there is no such animal material that can eliminate cancer according to the scientist.