In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial ideas heating debate over the fact that people are able to do their shopping, work via the internet and interact through computers instead of direct communication. Everything has both sides and this is not out of exception.This essay will tell the good and the bad sides of this matter.

On the one hand, the access to the Internet has benefited greatly the public for its convenience and comfort. With internet-connected devices, we are all connected no matter how old we are and where it is. For instance, during COVID-19 pandemic, I can video call with my grandmother in Ho Chi Minh City, only at the click of a mouse regardless of geographical barriers. Beside that, internet applications can help consumers and workers save a huge amount of time spent traveling to shops. As a result, we are enabled go shopping while staying at home and we can even save more money through promotion, coupon code…

While the redeeming features of internet are widely acknowledged, the drawbacks still linger. Firstly, virtual communication could discourage real interaction and ruining our relationships. It is common for heavy social network users to feel awkward when trying to strike up conversations with strangers or make small talk about social events. Secondly, Internet use has seriously affected our mental health. As a result, excessive Internet use may create little sleep, limited physical activity, possibly leading to the user experiencing health problems such as depression and anxiety. Finally, since people are unable to touch or to see the products they want to buy in reality, it is hard to examine the quality of these products. they might purchase the items with poor quality.

To sum up, although it has become more popular for people to socialise through internet, it has brought several drawbacks to be considered a positive trend.