The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that the government budgets should be allocated to public facilities such as educational institutions and medicine rather than space exploration projects. Personally, I totally agree with this viewpoint and will discuss my explanation below.

There are several reasons why space programmes should be abandoned. Firstly, these activities cost the government an excessive amount of money for scientific research and training space staff involved. Besides, it is extremely expensive to pay for facilities and equipment required in space stations as well as space rockets. Secondly, these programmes do not benefit the normal people in our daily lives as they are simply vanity projects for politicians. Finally, many space missions fail completely because of a subtle technological error, which can cost astronauts their lives. The exactly same example can be witnessed in a space shuttle trial in the USA years ago, where 5 brave astronauts sacrificed their lives only after 5 minutes of launching. In my opinion, space projects like this one are not worth the risks at all.

For these reasons, I believe that money from space programmes should be distributed to vital public services instead. It is much affordable to train doctors, teachers, police, and other public service workers than astronauts or space scientists and engineers who work on space exploration projects. Furthermore, the money taken from space projects can remarkably help reducing poverty and improve life quality for every member of society. For example, we all use schools, hospitals, and roads, and we all need the security that the police provide. If governments reallocate the space spending, thousands of people can be lifted out of poverty and given better life quality.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that funds spent on space exploration are needed to be used for services that benefit us all and not to waste resources that do not improve our everyday lives.