The money spent on space research has brought enormous benefits to mankind, but it could be more usefully applied. How far do you agree?

It is said that pouring money into space researches is beneficial to humanity, however, it should be used for other fields such as education, poverty, or healthcare. From my point of view, I completely agree with this statement.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that space exploration is bringing clear profits to mankind. The foremost reason is that it paves the way for advanced technology. For instance, the old generation used to predict the weather based on the experience they had collected for years, however, in this modern world, with space experiments, weather, even natural disasters, is predicted by data from satellite technology. Another advantage that can be listed is that this aspect helps people enhance their knowledge about outer space. By exploring space, individuals can get answers to fundamental questions about extra-terrestrial beings, habitable lands, and celestial planets.

However, governments should spend more on social issues like poverty, schooling, environmental pollution, or healthcare as they are having negative effects on the multitudes. In poor countries, especially in Africa, individuals are putting up with poverty, homelessness, and lack of education, sometimes die because of hunger. Therefore, the administration should pour more money into providing their citizens who need shelters as well as financial support. Moreover, financial assistance for space experiments is likely to put pressure on the government budget hence, that should be transferred to medical research as it is more practical. It may find new treatments for illnesses including HIV/AIDS, Covid-19, or cancer.

In conclusion, carrying out space exploration is beneficial for mankind but spending on social problems is also required.